1. Home
  2. Apprenticeship Levels
  3. What is a Level 4 Apprenticeship Equivalent to

What is a Level 4 Apprenticeship Equivalent to

For anyone considering applying for an apprenticeship for the first time. The different terms used to describe the various types of apprenticeships can be challenging to comprehend. If you’re thinking of applying, one of the first things you can consider is the different apprenticeships.

Knowing this would enable you to make an educated decision. You must be sure that the apprenticeship you are about to apply for is the right step in your future .

In this post, we will go through the different types of apprenticeship levels. What are they comparable to? And give you an idea about how much experience you’ll need to be eligible for each level.

Apprenticeship Levels

Apprenticeships at all stages, from level 2 to level 7, are open. Level 7 is the highest, and level 2 is the lowest. These steps are often grouped into four categories. The stages of complexity are Intermediate, Advanced, Higher, and Degree. The vital concern, though, is what some levels or units are comparable to.

Level 2 Intermediate Apprenticeship

An advanced apprenticeship is another name for a stage 2 apprenticeship. Level 2 is widely regarded as the equivalent of five GCSE’s.

Since this is the lowest apprenticeship level available, there are no qualifying criteria for applying. However, you will be asked to demonstrate your ability to complete the course. To be considered for consideration, you must be at least 16 years old.

Apprenticeship at the Advanced Level (Level 3)

A level 3 apprenticeship is an advanced apprenticeship. A Level 3 certification is the equivalent of two A-Levels.

Level 3 apprenticeships are a popular next step after completing a level 2 apprenticeship. Companies will usually look at applicants who have completed a level 2 apprenticeship or have 5 GCSEs.

In certain circumstances, no stringent requirements are needed to be eligible for a level 3 apprenticeship. In this situation, though, you will almost certainly be expected to have previous business experience to be admitted.

Advanced Apprenticeship (Level 4)

A level 4 apprenticeship is equivalent to a foundation degree, a Higher National Certificate (HNC). A level 4 apprenticeship is also equivalent to the first year of an undergraduate degree. Level four is the starting point for higher apprenticeships.

Level 4 apprenticeship requirements are usually more strict than level 3 apprenticeship standards. Furthermore, the conditions are as follows:

  • Completed an advanced apprenticeship
  • You must have NVQ/SVQ level 3 certification
  • You must have a BTEC National certificate
  • Two A-Level passes

Employers can also need 5 GCSEs at grades A–C. (9-4 on the new scale). The criteria, like those for the other categories, will differ depending on the organisation. Just because you don’t have the requirements for the first level 4 you find doesn’t mean you can stop looking!

Advanced Apprenticeship (Level 5)

Level 5 apprenticeships are sometimes referred to as higher apprenticeships, but they are the equivalent of a full degree.

A level 5 apprenticeship will have the exact requirements as a level 4 apprenticeship. However, since this is a more specialised course, companies might have more strict requirements. E.g., a business can need a minimum grade C at A-Level in ICT in addition to other conditions for an IT Apprenticeshi

Degree apprenticeships are a unique type of course that universities deliver. At the end of the stage 6 apprenticeship, candidates would have earned a full bachelor’s degree. The level 7 course enables you to obtain a master’s degree in your chosen area.

And they are tough. Employers still have high expectations for these apprenticeships. You will almost certainly need prior knowledge. These qualifications must also be transferable to the apprenticeship.

Updated on December 23, 2021

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles