1. Home
  2. Apprenticeship Levels
  3. What is a Technical Apprenticeship

What is a Technical Apprenticeship

There are over 70 different Apprenticeship Frameworks in Scotland, each of which is designed to offer a training programme centred on a minimum degree of competence set by employers via SSCs.

There are four levels of apprenticeship in Scotland:

  • Modern apprenticeships at SCQF 5 (SVQ 2) and SCQF 6/7 (SVQ 3)
  • Technical Apprenticeships at SCQF 8/9 (SVQ 4)
  • Professional Apprenticeships at SCQF 10. (SVQ 10). (5th SVQ)

They share three essential criteria:

  • An SVQ (or similar competency-based certification)
  • HN Certificate, Professional Qualification, or other qualification at SCQF level 8 or above.
  • Aptitudes for a Career (also recognised as Framework Key Skills at SCQF Levels 5, 6, and 7)
  • Preparation for Industry

What is the distinction between a technical apprenticeship and a skilled apprenticeship?

Technical apprenticeships include those above the age of 16 with pay and the opportunity to train for jobs at the senior supervisory and management levels.

Who makes them?

Technical and Professional Apprenticeship are provided by Sector Skills Councils (SSCs). SSCs work with employees and key players in their sector to create a training programme that meets workplace needs.

What do they serve?

Professional apprenticeships are available to employees aged 16 and above. Employees must demonstrate to their employer that they are capable of completing the class.

Updated on December 23, 2021

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles