1. Home
  2. Apprenticeship Levels
  3. What Is Higher Level Apprenticeship

What Is Higher Level Apprenticeship

Higher apprenticeships provide the opportunity to earn Level 4 or higher qualifications, with the majority of apprentices receiving an NVQ Level 4, HND, or foundation degree. Some offer the chance to progress to Level 7. (which is postgraduate degree level).

What is higher level apprenticeship?

A higher apprenticeship may last anywhere from one to five years and involves part-time study at a college, university, or training provider.

Official data show that 90 per cent of apprentices in England kept working after completing their certification, with 71 per cent staying with the same business.

At least five GCSEs at grades A*– C (9 – 4 on the new grading system), including English and maths courses and Level 3 credentials such as A levels, NVQs, or a BTEC, may be required entry. Some employers may expect or require applicants to have studied subjects relevant to the apprenticeship.

Higher apprenticeships may be competitive, partly because there are often only a limited number of jobs available and because school/college graduates and individuals who are already employed may apply. Employers may also review applications from existing employees for potential career development opportunities.

Updated on December 23, 2021

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles